Tuesday, December 04, 2012

Into the 1920's We Go

Started a new painting.  It will be set a little later than my previous paintings, 1920's instead of the late 1800's.  Looking forward to many of the fun transportation vehicles of the period..

Thursday, November 01, 2012

Santiago Rests

An environment and lighting study for the interior of Santiago's shack.

Friday, October 19, 2012

Butcher Selling Meat - Process

I haven't used a pencil in a long time.  It was very satisfying.  To be continued...

Inked with Pilot Hi-Tec C.

Colored with Tria Markers.

Friday, September 07, 2012

Autumn Sunset in Transylville, c. 1870

Above is the final version.  The close-ups below do not reflect some of the subtle changes that I have made in this version.

Saturday, August 11, 2012

Gramercy Park Inspired Street Lamp

Here's a small peak into one of the finished elements of newest painting.  Lot of details!

Monday, August 06, 2012

More Street Lamps and Stuff Happening on the Street

Sketches of details to go in current painting - been working on this painting for about two months - will be done very shortly.

Saturday, August 04, 2012

Chalk Board Menu

Latest Chalk Board menu for Silo Slider Bar in downtown LA at the HAAS BLD'G - 7th and Broadway.

Tuesday, July 24, 2012


My apologies for the lack of posts and the lack of work available at the Print Shop (if anyone has checked). I've been working on a big painting that I am almost done with. Here's a wolf character sketched on napkin that will appear in that painting. More work to come soon.

Monday, June 25, 2012

Smoking Buddies

Been working on a big painting lately so haven't had much time to do anything else.  But I needed a break and out came these two smoking buddies.

Tuesday, June 05, 2012

Print Shoppe Now Open

Hello friends.  I am very excited to announce that I will be working with Green City Fine Arts to reproduce images of my art work in high quality print and canvas options.  We are starting small with just a few characters but will be building the store over a period of time to include more of my past as well as future works.  If there is something from my blog that you would like that is not available, please request that work through the comments section.  Thanks!

My Store: http://www.greencityfinearts.bigcartel.com/category/sharackula?page=1
Green City Fine Arts website: http://greencityfineart.com/

Wednesday, May 30, 2012


I was deeply moved this morning when I was made fun of for the styling of my blog... but I guess I had to agree a little bit with the person whom I don't know.  So I made it simpler.  I hope you still enjoy.

Tuesday, May 29, 2012

Griffith Park Observatory

Took a short hike up to Barnsdale Park and did this quick gouache study of Griffith Park and the GP Observatory.

Saturday, May 26, 2012

The Duel

Real paint!  And a first for me... painting gentlemins on canvas (acrylic, 18"w x 24"h).

This set is called "The Duel."  I haven't decided on their names yet... so if you got any ideas, please leave them in the comments.  Otherwise, name to come after some research.

Tuesday, May 22, 2012

House by Shakespeare Bridge

From an earlier sketch of the house across the street - added some colors and textures.

Monday, April 23, 2012

Warm Up

Been away for a week.  Felt like doing some quick sketching to warm up today.

Wednesday, April 11, 2012

Wine Bar

Needed a break from doing more difficult work... so I drew up a little card for a nice little wine bar in the neighborhood.

Wednesday, April 04, 2012

Santiago Notes

A page from the sketchbook containing Santiago and his fishing things along with some notes.

Wednesday, March 21, 2012

Friday, March 09, 2012